Skip to main content

Presidential Transition Committee

The Presidential Transition Committee (the "Committee”) is established by the Board of Governors of the University effective February 1, 2018, on the authority provided to it by Section 9(1)(d) of the University of Ontario Institute of Technology Act.


The Committee has been constituted by the Board of Governors to assist the Board with ensuring a successful orientation and transition of the next President and Vice-Chancellor of the university.  The Committee is responsible for developing, overseeing, and implementing a presidential transition plan to commence prior to the president’s arrival until one year after the incoming president’s start date.  

The Committee’s responsibilities include:

  • developing, overseeing, and implementing a transition plan designed to assist the next president with building key relationships, learning the university’s culture, and getting acquainted with the community-at-large;
  • identifying desired outcomes & activities to accomplish the Committee’s goals;
  • regularly updating the Board of Governors (through the Committee Chair) on the progress of the transition; and
  • monitoring community response to the transition & reporting feedback to the Board and incoming president.

The Committee will support the incoming president by:

  • providing appropriate information & advice;
  • assisting with building, maintaining & enhancing key relationships; and
  • co-ordinating appropriate activities during the transition & first year of the president’s term. 


The Executive Committee of the Board will select individuals who are best positioned to facilitate the information, relationships, and activities that will contribute to a successful presidential orientation and transition.  The Committee should be comprised of individuals who can connect the incoming president with their respective stakeholder groups and/or have knowledge or expertise that would be particularly helpful to the president during the transition.

Accordingly, the Committee shall be composed of:

  • two external governors (ideally Board Chair/Vice-Chair & member of CRP) (Chair/Vice-Chair to serve as Committee Chair) – require at least one governor who has served on the Board for several years & can provide guidance to president
  • one member of Senior Leadership Team
  • one member of Senior Academic Committee
  • one faculty member
  • one student member
  • one staff member
  • one Communications Team member
  • Assistant to the President
  • University Secretary/Assistant University Secretary

The Board reserves the option to add members to ensure diverse perspectives are included. 


The Executive Committee will solicit expressions of interest from the relevant constituencies. 

All expressions of interest will be in brief letter form and will address the following:

a) the applicant’s ability to commit the necessary time to regularly and consistently attend the Committee meetings and perform work as required between meetings;

b) the applicant’s reason for applying;

c) the applicant’s ability to connect the incoming president with the stakeholder group represented by the applicant. 

4.     GOALS

The Committee’s goals include:

  • introducing the incoming president to the community (internal and external) in manner suited to the incoming president’s personality;
  • recommending the development of appropriate briefing material;
  • raising the profile of the university within the community & the post-secondary sector;
  • establishing the incoming president as a visible & actively engaged participant in the UOIT community and education sector; and
  • ensuring the university community is meaningfully engaged in the presidential transition. 


The Board will ensure that the Committee has the necessary resources and support in order to fulfill its mandate.  It is expected that implementation of the transition plan will require smaller working groups with respect to specific topics or events.  Examples of potential working groups are:

  • Communications
  • Student Engagement
  • Faculty Engagement
  • Community Engagement (business, non-profit, arts)
  • Indigenous Community Engagement
  • Alumni & Donor Engagement
  • Government Relations
  • President’s Installation